Navigation

junkfaxes.org home
Things you can do
The TCPA and the FCC Regulations
Various state laws
Samples of telephone conversations to illustrate the kind of people we're dealing with
Subscribe to the junkfax-l mailing list to discuss violators, pending actions, etc.
reference library of junk fax images  and cases
Legal self-help books and other resources for pro se plaintiffs and other tools



pebbly-woman

The following table lists a synopsis of the various state laws related to junk faxing, and where possible, the state name contains a link to the full text of the statute.  (See our sister site, The TCPA Law Site, for information on state telemarketing laws).

I welcome any additions or corrections.  If you are familiar with the laws in a state not listed here, please email me with the text of the law, and, if possible, a URL to the online resource, preferably a web site maintained by the state.

Sorry - this is still under construction...

State

Synopsis

Oklahoma Prohibited.  Misdemeanor with $500 - $1000 fine for each fax sent during "business hours" or for faxes more than 2 pages sent after hours. [21 O.S. 1863]
California  
Utah Prohibited; administrative fines up to $1,000 per violation, deliberate violations criminal offense with fines of up to $2,500.  Also, private right of action for the greater of $500 or or the amount of the pecuniary loss, plus court costs and attorney's fees. [13-25a-104]
Florida Intrastate faxes prohibited; A.G. can impose civil penalty of up to $500 per fax, injunctive relief. [365.1657]
Texas TCPA actions specifically authorized; additionally, junk faxes sent between 11 PM - 7 AM a criminal offense. 
Minnesota Toll-free number and mailing address for removal must be in at least 9-point type; removal requests must be honored, private right to sue for damages & costs. [325E.395]
South Carolina Prohibited; private right of action for the greater of damages & costs or $200 available if faxes continue after notification to stop. [15-75-50]
Colorado Toll-free number for removal must be provided. Civil remedy of the greater of actual damages or $500, plus attorneys' fees.
Nebraska Prohibited.  Class II Misdemeanor with administrative fine of up to $1,000 per violation.
   
   
   

 

 

 

 

 

 
Sister sites...

- www.tcpalaw.com
  Indispensable TCPA legal research and permanent reporter of TCPA decisions
nationwide.

- www.do-not-call.com
  Consumer resources relating to telephone solicitation abuses.

Other sites...

www.dianamey.com
www.junkfax.org
SW Texas TCPA
Private Citizen



© 1999-2005 Robert H. Braver, Norman, Oklahoma. Nothing in this web site should be construed as legal advice. This web site is provided for information purposes only. Opinions presented are those of Mr. Braver (or other contributors as indicated). The operators of this site will not give, sell, or otherwise transfer email addresses stored on any of our hosts to any other party for the purposes of initiating, or enabling others to initiate, electronic mail messages.


{BottomHook}